The EU organic awards are jointly organised by the European Committee of the Regions (CoR), the European Commission, the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC, COPA-COGECA and IFOAM Organics Europe. These awards aim to recognise excellence along the organic value chain, rewarding the best and most innovative actors in organic production in the EU.​

Categories and awards

The EU organic awards scheme comprises 7 categories and 8 individual awards. They acknowledge different actors along the organic value chain, which developed an excellent, innovative, sustainable and inspiring project producing real added value for organic production and consumption.

Category 1: Best organic farmer (female) and Best organic farmer (male)

Category 2: Best organic region

Category 3: Best organic city

Category 4: Best organic “bio-district”

Category 5: Best organic food processing SME

Category 6: Best organic food retailer

Category 7: Best organic restaurant/food service

These awards are non-financial and will be handed on or around 23 September, which is EU Organic Day. For the second edition, the award ceremony will take place on 25 September 2023.

More information and application